## RESOLUTION FOR EXCLUSION OF CERTAIN OFFICERS/DIRECTORS

**WHEREAS**, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech) was determined by the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) to be a facility authorized to be eligible for access to classified information or award of classified contracts in 1960, and years following, with the most recent authorization in 2015; and

WHEREAS, in accordance with the National Industry Security Program Operating Manual (NISPOM), Cognizant Security Agencies (CSAs) require that certain principal officers, directors, partners, regents, or trustees, and those occupying similar positions at institutions of higher education meet the personnel security clearance requirements established for the level of the institution's facility security clearance or be formally excluded; and

**WHEREAS**, the NISPOM permits the exclusion from the personnel clearance requirements of said principal officers et al. on the basis that these cited individuals shall not require, shall not have, and can be effectively excluded from access to all classified information disclosed to Virginia Tech, and do not occupy positions that would enable them to affect adversely corporate policies or practices in the performance of classified contracts, as determined by a CSA;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT DECLARED that the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors hereby formally appoints a managerial group with the authority and responsibility for the negotiation, execution, and administration of classified contracts (Key Management Personnel), consisting of the following principal officers within Virginia Tech: President, University Legal Counsel, Chief Contracting Officer, Vice President for Research and Innovation, Senior Contracts Officer, Facility Security Officer, and Insider Threat Program Senior Official (specified by name in Attachment A); and

**BE IT RESOLVED** that the President, and the said managerial group, at the present time do possess the required security clearance, with the exception of the Vice President for Research and Innovation, who is in the process of obtaining the required security clearance and is hereby excluded pursuant to this resolution until the time eligibility for access to classified information is granted by a cognizant security agency; and

**BE IT RESOLVED FURTHER** that in the future, when a CSA determines that additional Virginia Tech officials must be added to said managerial group and be granted personnel clearances or excluded from classified access pursuant to the NISPOM, such requirements shall be made and approved by the Key Management Personnel, and not the Board of Visitors, unless approval by the Board of Visitors is formally required by a CSA; and

**LASTLY, BE IT RESOLVED,** that the appended list of all members of the Board of Visitors and certain University Principal Officers (specified by name in Attachment B) shall not require, shall not have, and can be effectively excluded from access to all classified information in the possession of Virginia Tech, and do not occupy a position that would enable them to affect adversely Virginia Tech policies or practices in the performance of classified contracts. A copy of this resolution shall be provided to CSAs as required by the NISPOM.

## **RECOMMENDATION:**

That this resolution be adopted.

## ATTACHMENT A:

Key Management Personnel who must be granted personnel clearances or excluded from classified access pursuant to the NISPOM per Board of Visitors Resolution, November 16, 2020.

President	Timothy D. Sands, Ph.D.
University Legal Counsel	Kay K. Heidbreder, Esq.
Chief Contracting Officer	Timothy D. Sands, Ph.D
Vice President for Research & Innovation	Daniel Sui, Ph.D.*
Senior Contracts Officer	Trudy Riley
Facility Security Officer	
and Insider Threat Program Senior Official	John J. Talerico, III

<sup>\*</sup>an application has been made for Dr. Sui's clearance but has not been granted at the time of this report.

## **ATTACHMENT B:**

Members of the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors to be excluded per Board of Visitors Resolution, November 16, 2020.

Edward H. Baine
Shelley S. Barlow
Carrie Chenery
Greta J. Harris
C. T. Hill
Anna L. James
Letitia A. Long (Vice Rector)
Sharon B. Martin
Melissa B. Nelson
L. Chris Petersen
Mehul P. Sanghani
Horacio A. Valeiras (Rector)
Jeff E. Veatch
Preston M. White

List of Virginia Tech Principal Officers to be excluded per Board of Visitors Resolution, November 16, 2020

Executive Vice President and Provost Dr. Cyril R. Clarke